top of page

Letting Go

Tomorrow, all 7 kittens will go to KittenPalooza. The huge adoption event hosted by Petsmart will help these babies find some humans to call their own. And I'm sad. I hate this part. You want to believe that they're going to find a good, loving Forever Home. In reality, you don't know exactly where they will end up after adoption.

There are a lot of things I do with our fosters to help ensure success with their transition to their new home. One of the first things we do is give them a bath. There's no nice way to say this; shelter cats often stink. So this step is for us too! But by giving the kittens baths (Yes, plural. They get several baths while living with us) it broadens their horizons. Yes, that sounds funny but it's true. Every new experience I present them with is another chance to acclimate to something that their Forever Humans might expect from them. So I give them baths. I play with their toes and rub their bellies and noses. They are welcomed into the whole house to eat, sleep and play with us.

If their new home has kids, our foster kitten will be prepared for that. If they have other cats? It's cool; they've been living with our kitties and are totally okay with sharing space. New humans wanna give them a bath? Pshhh, they gots this. Are they expected to be a lap cat in this new home? Practically guaranteed. They want a playful kitten? Oh yeah, they're totally up for that!

So as we say our final goodbyes it's bittersweet. Yes, I will miss them and no, I don't know for sure what kind of home they will go to. But I do know this: I have helped prepare them for this moment and I have raised them to be awesome! Who could possibly not love these kittens?! Go forth, my sweet babies. And you will make them love you! UPDATE! There were 29 adoptions at KittenPalooza!!!

Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Recent Posts
bottom of page