top of page

Waste Disposal For Bottle Baby Foster Kittens


What do you use to “pee & poo” your bottle baby kittens? And how do you dispose of the waste? It's not the best part of this gig but it's necessary. Neonatal kittens must be stimulated to help them pee & poo. Such a glamorous life!

There are so many options but I started out with a good old fashioned damp washcloth. It was cheap and reusable. But over the years a skin condition forced me to find other options and I started using gloves and paper towels or tissues. Instead of just cleaning the washcloths I had to dispose of the used tissues and gloves. At first I was using a plastic grocery bag and tying it shut but it really didn't help with the smell and they ripped easily.

Eventually I ended up with my current system of peeing with paper towels (because they are more absorbent than tissues) and poo'ing with baby wipes. I pour about a tablespoon of baking soda into a gallon sized Ziploc bag and use that to dispose of my gloves, paper towels and wipes. The baking soda and resealable bag really help control the odor. With 3-4 kittens, I will fill up about 1 gallon Ziploc every 24 hours.

When I had to switch up my routine I reached out to our community to see what other foster families were doing with the bottle baby waste. The responses were fantastic! Below you will find a list of different things other fosters are using. But first I wanted to share a concern that was raised a few times. The environment! My nitrile gloves and plastic bags are not biodegradable and will be sitting in a landfill somewhere for quite a while. Unfortunately, some of us really need things like the gloves and other disposable items but it did made me stop and think. I'm including some eco-friendly options below as well.

*Clicking on the products below will take you to the product page on Amazon*

(This is the 'generic' brand)


(Gentle Care, Sensitive)


(Lotion free)


(Sensitive - Scent Free)



(This is the biodegradable kind)


For 'Greener' Options:

Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Recent Posts
bottom of page