top of page

Let The Good Times Roll

So this is how John and I party while the kids are gone with their Nana & Grampy... Medicating 6 cats for ringworms at 4 AM, Pulling 2 feet of worms out of a kitten's butt, Sanitizing the entire bathroom at 5 AM, Doing several loads of laundry, Sanitizing litter boxes, Trying to coax Mama cat Cleo into nursing (didn't work), Shopping for new bedding at 6 AM (cuz Cleo was sitting all over our bed today with her ringworm laden, Lime Sulfur smelling butt) And buying kitten formula to feed our foster kittens cuz Mama still won't nurse (we think it's bc of the Lime dips). This is how we roll.

Holy Grossness, Batman! We were in with the cats giving them their oral meds for the ringworm and the kitten we call Indiana used the litter box. No big deal. Until she got out and we saw about 8 inches of something hanging out of her butt! We thought maybe she had swallowed a string or something so John holds her while I go to grab it out with a tissue. Oh dear Lord. I pulled and pulled. I swear, it looked so bad that for a minute I thought I was pulling out intestine. There were two feet of worms stretching before me. Some broke off on the first tissue, about 6 inches broke off on another tissue (which I saved in a sealed bag for the vet) and the rest pulled back up inside her. I've raised about 12 litter's over the years and never in my life have I seen a worm infestation like that. It was BAD.

The next morning we took the cats to the shelter to get checked out by the vet. All 6 cats were treated for the worms. We took that Ziploc bag of worms that I'd saved to the vet. I like to bring little gifts to the vet. I know it makes her day ;) . The vet couldn't believe that all those worms came out of a kitten and not the Mama! And that was only a portion of what came out of her! So they got medicine for that, which is a one time treatment. The vet isn't worried about Cleo rejecting the kittens. She said that she's just forcing them to start weaning. We just have 2 more Lime dips to do this week & they need to finish their oral meds for the ringworm and they will be good and healthy.

Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Recent Posts
bottom of page