top of page

Life, Love & 6 More Cats ~ Litter #7

Right after we dropped off litters #5 & #6 to be adopted, we had a death in the family. The last 6 weeks have been so hard and I can't count the number of times that I started to go pick up a litter to bring some life and laughter into our home.

It was just over a year ago that we got our first foster litter. On June 30th to be exact. We were still reeling from the sudden loss of my sister at the beginning of the month. When we brought them home that night, we took the 4 cats and our kids into our master bedroom and shut the door. We sat in the floor getting to know them and, in that single night, smiled and laughed more than we had all month. We had that litter for about 6 weeks and I feel like they helped save us.

So when I lost a mother figure last month, I wanted to be saved again. I wanted so badly to feel that infusion of life and love that kitten's bring into your home. But I needed to grieve first. I had to keep reminding myself that I needed to be able to there, 100%, for our next fosters and I couldn't do that when I could barely function.

Last week I realized that I'm stuck in this funk. Somewhere between Depression and Acceptance, I got stuck. It was time to immerse ourselves in caring for a new litter. It was time for some kitten luvins. So we contacted Tiane and she had a Mama with 5 newborn babies for us. Yes, Please!

Our Mama cat (The kids have named her Millie) was nervous and peed and pooped in the carrier on the way home. And of course the babies crawl around in that... She is also still having postpartum bleeding. She's not as fastidious about cleaning herself and the babies as Nala was. She did clean them and herself up but they all still stink terribly. We can't give them a bath yet so it makes it difficult to stay in the bathroom with them for long. We managed to get them settled and take a few pictures. Gender checks will have to wait until they smell better! Bonus video added to meet your daily cuteness quota :)

Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Recent Posts
bottom of page